Sawari Game Lodge

South Africa


General Information

Capital: Johannesburg

Population: 44,344,136 (2005)

Area: 1,223,201 km˛

Currency: Rand (R)

Languages: English, Afrikaans, Ndebele, North Sotho, South Sotho, Swazi, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa, Zulu

Time Zone: GMT + 2h00

Dialing Code: +27

 South African Landscape

Map of South Africa


South Africa is situated at the southern tip of Africa forming part of the Southern Africa region and is bordered by Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Swaziland. Lesotho is situated within South Africa’s borders.

There are nine provinces – Gauteng, Western Cape, Kwazulu Natal, Eastern Cape, Northern Cape, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, Free State and the North West. Pretoria is the executive capital and Cape Town the legislative capital. Other major cities include Johannesburg, Durban, Port Elizabeth, Bloemfontein and East London.

The country’s climate varies from region to region. The Western Cape experiences a Mediterranean climate and the interior has a semi-desert climate with cold, dry winters and summer rainfall. Kwazulu Natal has a subtropical climate with humid conditions. Snow is uncommon and is limited to the highest lying regions of the country.

Home | The Big Five | Plains Game | The Lodge | The Professionals | Price List & Enquiries | Excursions
Nature Gallery
| Testimonials | Travel Information | South Africa | Contact Us | Safari Links

Copyright © 2005 Sawari Game Lodge. All rights reserved.

South African Safari Buffalo